viewskillo.blogg.se

Eye fi review
Eye fi review










eye fi review
  1. #Eye fi review install
  2. #Eye fi review manual
  3. #Eye fi review upgrade
  4. #Eye fi review android
  5. #Eye fi review windows 7

The Eye-Fi Mobile X2 card with Direct Mode is just as cool as I thought it would be. RAW files make more sense if we’re talking tablets.

#Eye fi review android

It may work with the iPad or Android tablets, though. If my iPhone doesn’t support RAW files, I don’t see how it upgrading the card would change anything. I’m not sure if that will allow Direct Mode to transfer RAW files, though.

#Eye fi review upgrade

The Eye-Fi Pro X2 card ($149.99) does support RAW and you can upgrade the Mobile X2 card to handle RAW files for an extra $29.99. That makes perfect sense to me, although it took a while for me to think of it and switch my camera to JPEG. Direct Mode doesn’t support RAW files.I expect the camera’s extra burly build acts as a radio frequency shield, blocking the Eye-Fi card’s Wi-Fi network. I tried it with a few SD card-compatible cameras and found it didn’t work with the Olympus Tough waterproof point-and-shoot I’m currently using. The Eye-Fi X2 card doesn’t work with every camera.But as soon as I leave my house and get out of range of my Wi-Fi network the phone promptly connects to the Eye-Fi card and begins transferring photos. For example, when I’m home it’s next to impossible to get the card to connect to my iPhone because my phone wants to stay connected to my home network. Your phone or mobile device will prefer connecting with recognized Wi-Fi networks to the Eye-Fi card’s network. The last stumbling block was a conflict between my home Wi-Fi network and the Eye-Fi card network. If it took me two days to find the Direct Mode instructions, imagine how difficult it might be for someone with less tech experience? However, once I found the setup instructions I got it working pretty quickly. I’m pretty good about following directions and I’m not inexperienced with computers, cameras and other tech devices.

#Eye fi review manual

There really should be more a more prominent link to that guide and it should also be mentioned in the little paper quick start manual that comes with the card. For the benefit of my readers, here’s a direct link to the Direct Mode setup page: I already had the Eye-Fi app installed on my phone so I ignored the button that said, “Check our Direct Mode mobile apps.” (see screenshot, below) When I finally decided to click on it I discovered it linked to a step-by-step guide for setting up Direct Mode. A day later I discovered an Eye-Fi card settings section in the Eye-Fi Center software. I flailed around re-pairing the card and iPhone over and over and looking for hidden settings I might have missed.

eye fi review

At that point I thought I was set – until I took a few pictures and realized nothing was transferring to my iPhone. Getting the Eye-Fi card to pair with my iPhone was easy, actually. I did eventually get it to work but not before I started to have some serious doubts. It actually took me a couple of days messing with settings and digging around on the Eye-Fi Web site to figure it out. The Direct Mode mobile connectivity is new and it was a little trickier. Wi-Fi connectivity is the raison d’être for the Eye-Fi card and setting it up was smooth and simple. Once the Eye-Fi Center application is installed you configure your new Mobile X2 card to connect to your home Wi-Fi network.

#Eye fi review install

The next step is to install the Eye-Fi software that comes on the card.

eye fi review

#Eye fi review windows 7

You plug your new card into the computer (I used a Windows 7 PC) via the included USB card reader and the computer recognizes the card and installs it. The basic Eye-Fi card setup procedure will be familiar to anyone who’s ever installed a plug-and-play device. They didn’t have to do that and it’s great that X2 card owners can have the benefits of the Mobile X2 card without having to spend any more money. It was really nice of Eye-Fi to make the original X2 card upgradeable. The upgrade is quick and painless and gives you all the functionality of the 8GB Mobile X2 card (except the extra 4 GB of storage, of course). I visited the Eye-Fi office a couple of weeks ago and they didn’t have Mobile X2 cards at their office to give out so they gave me an upgradeable 4 GB X2 card with geotagging. I didn’t actually get the Mobile X2 SD card. Price: $79.99 for the 8GB Mobile X2 card or $49.99 for an upgradeable 4GB X2 card

  • Large digital camera files require more processing power than some mobile devices (my iPhone 3G, for instance) can provide.
  • Direct Mode is a little tricky to set up.
  • Makes it easy to share high quality digital photos.
  • Wireless digital photo and video uploads to your computer and iOS / Android mobile devices.
  • Works with (almost) any SD-compatible camera.











  • Eye fi review